QUIZZES

I know that I have to do quizzes… But it doesn’t mean I have to like them.

Who said that it’s necessary to grade my learning anyway? If I’ve studied my absolute best, and I’m happy with the amount I’ve learned, what sort of a cruel joke is it to give me a mark out of 10?!!

YEAH, I know your answer university…. “We have to evaluate your learning, or everyone could get a degree and then degrees wouldn’t be worth getting.” Yada yada yada. Blah blah blah.

Despite my dislike of academic assessments, the day of my first quiz still came around, and before I knew it, I found myself sitting in KN137 with 100 plus other students, waiting to start.

The quiz went okay, but the entire experience was horrid. And the thing is, it wasn’t even horrid because the quiz was hard, but just because I was freaking out the entire time!

I was freaking out because:

1. I’d never written a test in a room with more than 30 people.

2. I’m used to having a fairly large desk to spread out my test, my writing utensils, my erasing utensils, and my writing utensils in case the first writing utensils run out of lead or ink. OH, and my limbs! My arms need room to write properly and my head needs room to rest in the case of extreme exasperation. Instead, I had a “writing surface” that fit about three quarters of a sheet of paper and …. No jokes… It didn’t fit anything else.

3. There was a countdown projected on the screen in front that showed how many minutes we had left to finish the quiz.

4. 10 minutes to the end of the quiz, when I was struggling with one final question (I didn’t end up getting it by the way), people started handing their quizzes in! I felt so panicked! Obviously other people understood that question that had me stumped. Good for them, but I couldn’t help comparing myself to them you know?

At least I survived. My first quiz was challenging and nerve-wrecking but it wasn’t so nightmarish that I didn’t get a single question. I guess I just have to work on controlling test-anxiety when it comes to these situations, and maybe next time, I’ll be able to get that one really hard question. Do you guys have any tips for staying calm during quizzes?

Leave a Reply

