Food for Thought

WARNING: This is going to be one of those philosophical, touchy-feely posts that nobody is obligated to read whatsoever. 🙂

So I figured something out recently.

I didn’t have an epiphany or anything. No religious apparition in the middle of the night. I guess I just came to these realizations gradually over the course of my teenage years.

Alright, now that the disclaimer is out of the way I suppose I’ll get on with the things I figured out.

FYI, I think the following list is really for my benefit rather than anyone else’s.

1)      Happiness is a choice. When I’m hurt, or lonely or down, sometimes I feel like whining and feeling sorry for myself. And the thing I figured out about this is… In three days I’ll be just fine. But for the duration of those 3 days, choosing to whine and moan rather than getting over myself and enjoying life, is stupid. I have so many things to be grateful for, and there’s no use being upset over the little things that I won’t remember next year.

2)      It’s in my best interest to be true to myself. Whether it’s for a job interview or in a relationship, nothing good comes from pretending to be anything other than myself. Recently a friend told me that guys like to show off and feel smarter, and that I should let them feel like that sometimes. And I was like… LOL JKS am I supposed to act stupid?! Another example is interacting in a group. When I’m in a group, I tend to be very soft-spoken. I used to try to be more outgoing but now I realize there’s no point to that. Those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind, right?

3)      This last one is sort of a combination of the previous two. It combines being yourself and being happy about it. We all have little things about ourselves that bother us. For me it’s mostly some of the bad decisions I’ve made. Sometimes I revisit them and imagine how I could have acted differently to avoid hurting myself or other people. But I’m learning that if I hadn’t made some choices I have, I wouldn’t have learned the lessons that came with them.

Alright well, if you’re still reading, props man. 🙂

To tie things up, I had another epic three days in Ottawa. It’s insane, every trip I get to do something new. I just couldn’t have lucked out more with my summer job. I’m traveling and seeing places and meeting people, AND I’m getting paid.

This week I got to see the Supreme Court of Canada… Not too shabby.

ImageThen we dropped by Rideau Hall, the official residence of the Governor General, and took a tour around the grounds. Guess what I discovered? A tree planted by Nelson Mandela. Casual huh?

ImageThen I glimpsed the filming of the Amazing Race Canada. Sorry, no picture for this one, but I saw the yellow and red teams madly sprinting through the capital.

We also dropped by the RCMP horse stables, where we learned about how RCMP horses are bred and taken care of.

ImageWhen I got back, a friend’s birthday celebration ensued. We had sangria and took selfies.

ImageThen we went to a club and met up with my stud-muffin friend Greg, and I took this artsy pic of him. And we all danced well into the night.

ImageIn short, an incredible week.

My next trip is Wednesday to Friday. I’m very excited. For the trip, and for the rest of the summer, and for the upcoming year.

Leave a Reply

