god I don’t even know what to call this blog

So tour-guiding is done…

I put up a blog about something else yesterday, because I didn’t even know how to approach this topic.

Through this job I’ve gained a new appreciation, not only for Canada as a country, but for my world in its entirety.

I’ve become friends with students, with teachers, and especially with my fellow tour-guides. I feel like I’ve hit the jackpot in chance encounters with random, awesome, people, and I’ve formed some lifelong relationships.

I’ve learned about myself, and about others, and about myself in relation to others.

So I’d like to share with you one brief experience that basically summarizes the last two months.

I was at the butterfly conservatory in Niagara. This is a giant green house that provides a safe place for exotic butterflies to breed and flourish.

After making sure the last of my rowdy group of 50 or so 8th graders had all made it safely inside, I tuned out the roar of their grad-trip-excitement and found a bench off to the side of the main path.

I crossed my legs, breathed in the humid air, and observed these wonderful fragile creatures fly around me, entirely unaware of the effect they had on me.

I was astonished.

Then an older man sat down beside me and started a conversation.

He told me that he came on a trip from Italy to visit his daughter in Boston, and that him and his wife made a day trip to Niagara. His wife was off taking photos of the butterflies. He said that he used to be a business man and that’s why he learned to speak English among numerous other languages.

I was having a lovely conversation when he wife came over and reached out both her palms to touch my face. She said, “Bella!” continued by a sentence that I didn’t understand. Her husband translated that she said that I look like a butterfly.

At that moment I had a rush of emotion. It was almost like a panic attack, but good instead of scary. I just had the sudden realization that I was sitting in a fairy garden and talking about life with beautiful Italian people, who were talking to me for the shear sake of talking to me. Neither the butterflies nor the people profited from being around me and yet there they both were.

At that moment I realized that this is what leading a happy life is about. It’s about recognizing the beauty in seemingly insignificant situations.

I could say the exact same thing about this whole job experience.

I’m truly grateful for the beauty I’ve seen in places and people, and I can’t think of any way I would rather have spent my summer.

I’ll just finish this blog off with a couple of pictures I took on my various jogs throughout the past two weeks.

Centre Block of the ParliamentImageNational Art Gallery

ImageAlexandra Bridge

ImageClifton Hill

Image

Leave a Reply

