Blog-Ception… A Blog Within A Blog

Before starting this blog I wrote a diary. In my diary, I found a trusty friend/ therapist who never complained about my overly philosophical musings. Honestly though, I think this is a better platform since the knowledge that actual human beings may read it prevents me from starting dreadful, depressing ramblings.

Having time to myself this holiday I read through some of my old diary entries. It’s always curious to look over your own old writing. Mostly because anyone, in the moment, believes that their ideas are good. It’s only when we look at them in the future that we realize how our ideas have changed.

Without further ado, here’s an especially thoughtful diary entry from about two years ago.


April 10th 2013

        So it’s raining again today, and although it’s somewhat of an inconvenience, overall I don’t mind. As long as I am not excessively cold or wet, I’m quite content. Watching the rain from inside, or from a bus or from under an umbrella is good. Sometimes, when I’m in the right mood, even dancing and spinning in the rain is great.

        Having said that, there are two quotes relating to rain that I really like. Chandler said the first one. “Why don’t we make a bigger deal about the rain? It’s literally water that falls from the sky!” I agree! Had there been no such thing as rain, and water started falling from the sky, we’d be terrified! We’d probably worry that we’d all drown!

        The second quote is by Bob Marley. “You say you love rain, but you use an umbrella to walk under it. You say you love sun, but you seek shade when it is shining. You say you love wind, but when it comes you close your window. So that’s why I’m scared when you say you love me.” This is true. We claim to love so many things but we don’t love them really. We should be careful with that word, I think.


Seems like grade 12 me wasn’t a complete air-brained idiot. Although, the fact that I have no recollection as to who this Chandler guy is makes me sad. He seems pretty cool.

Thanks for joining me for this blast from the past. I invite you to share some of your younger-self ideas, but commenting is hard so feel free not to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

