What do you want?

One of the hardest questions I’ve ever had to answer is, “What do you want?”

I think we go from day to day with a vague idea of what our desires are. Like, I know I want to get a degree, and move out of my parents’ house. And I know I feel like going out for dinner this weekend…

But very rarely, when you ask a person “What do you want?” will they say, “I want to eat salmon and rice for dinner, and then watch Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, and while we’re at it, I’d like to be done my computer science degree in 2 and a half years and move into the apartment on Bloor street and have three children with Jennifer.”

“What do you want?” is a difficult question!

Other, comparably difficult variations of “What do you want?” are:

“What do you want for your birthday?”

“Where do you want your relationship to go?”

“What do you want to do with your future?”

God-awful questions!

You think you know what you want, until somebody asks you one of these and you try to verbalize your thoughts! All of a sudden, you’re second guessing yourself and in fear of answering with something that you’ll later regret, you give a very vague answer.

“I’ll love anything you get me!”

“I’m keeping an open mind, we’ll see where the relationship goes.”

“I want to have um, a job, and um, a family.?…”

In the course of one seemingly simple question, your life goals and guttural instincts are diminished to an unintelligible mess of thoughts, you give an ambiguous answer, and, in a panic, you wonder, “What in the world DO I want?!”

Leave a Reply

