Home Sweet Home

Home sweet home, or at least that’s how it felt returning back to Ottawa for the first time this year. My summer job is leading grade 8 grad tours to Ottawa, and seeing as elementary school is ending in June, the new touring season is finally here!

Overall the trip was a success. I got to share my favourite city with some kids and made a couple friends along the way.

Let me tell you about three of my highlights.

1) I got to see my first ever hockey game! And an NHL one at that! It was an important tie breaker between the Ottawa Senators and the Pittsburgh Penguins. Although it’s beyond me why in the world you would choose a penguin as a mascot… the game was a lot of fun! I’m not usually a sports fan so it was also fun to get teasing texts from friends saying things like, “Score goals! Go team! Sportz!”

IMG_20150407_1957002) In 1916 there was a big fire that took out most of the Canadian parliament buildings. Thanks to some heavy duty steel doors, the parliamentary library was saved. So this one room in the building has the intricate wooden design of the old buildings. Walking through the door is like walking into the past. For the first time ever, photos of the library were allowed, so I thought I’d share this one with you.

IMG_20150408_1000473) On the second day of the tour, I had an hour to kill before signing in night security so I went on a walk around the parliament buildings. It was snowing big fluffy flakes and it was the first time I’d seen parliament hill all covered in white.

IMG_20150408_220846Thanks for joining me on my quick recap of the first tour of many, many more. Can’t wait to get these exams behind me.

Leave a Reply

