Life with the Parentals

Living in a house with the rents can be quite challenging. But sometimes, just sometimes, between the stretches of arguing, complaining, and getting on each other’s nerves, you get these incredible, awkward moments you know you’ll remember forever. And the fact that they happen with your family makes them that much more special.

For example, the other day I’m driving my dad to the grocery store and I turn on my music. As I’m, getting ready for the stream of complaints about my choice of music or how loud it’s playing, he says, “Hmm, Peenk Floid. Yes Zis Iz a goood song.” (In his Russian accent)

And then I have a moment. A moment in which I think to myself… Well hey, for the first and probably the last time in my life, my pops likes the same song as me. Hmmm. That’s cool. You know, not ground-breaking but it’s one of those things I’ll remember.

Another time, my mum and I are having dinner, and she casually brings up that she’s been listening to an audiobook on her way to work. I almost spit my soup out when she asks, “Have you heard of 50 Shades of Gray? If you skip over all the creepy sex scenes, the story is actually pretty good.” Laughing, she explains that she thought it was a mystery novel because of the handcuffs on the cover. Then she forces me to explain fan fiction…

And then I have a moment. It hits me. Holy, geez. I am laughing with my mum about 50 Shades of Gray.

And then there’s my brother. I can’t even describe my brother in a single situation. He’ll give me really bad life advice sometimes. Advice about careers and relationships and lifestyles. And it’s just such BAD advice. Most of the time I know he’s kidding, but then he’ll say something with such perfect conviction that it makes me wonder. Oh, and he’ll top it off by calling me some off-hand, not-really-offensive insult. So it sounds like this, “Yo Hanna, You know what you should do? You should stop studying and leave school. You can become a freelance artist and shave half your hair off. What a bucket. You’re such a bucket Hanna.”

And then I have a moment. Here I am listening to stupid advice from my brother and I’m so grateful. I’ll remember this moment when our families are celebrating Thanksgiving together 20 years from now.

So yeah, can’t live with them, can’t live without them. My family’s nuts, and I guess I am too a little bit.

Leave a comment