Ever wish for a timeturner?

Image

Anyone a Harry Potter fan? Now, I’m not a fanatic. I can’t tell you what colour Harry’s pants were at the end of the third movie, or explain the multiple layers of symbolism behind Voldemort’s name, but I have read the books and watched the movies several times. Having said that, my favourite character is by far Hermione Granger.

If you aren’t familiar with the story and have no clue who Hermione is, don’t stop reading! I guarantee that you’ve met her! Her name might not have been Hermione, and she may have been a he, but you have met her! You might even be a Hermione and not even know it!

Hermione is the girl who sits in the first row and raises her hand every time the teacher asks a question (even if the question is clearly hypothetical). She’s the one who takes on lots of responsibilities and still manages to get good grades. She’s starting to sound like a brat right about now, but I promise she’s got many redeeming qualities!  She’s loyal, dependable, and great at giving advice.

In high school I had everything pretty well figured out. Aside from the obnoxious hand-raising, I basically became a Hermione. (Despite my best attempts I even managed to have hair almost as poofy as hers.)

Organization was key to balancing school and extra-curriculars. But with some practise, I had it down! All it took to balance work and fun was an agenda and an occasional reminder to stop watching “Say yes to the dress” reruns. That’s why, when I got to university, I didn’t think I had to worry about time-management. After all, how much different can managing time be in university? UTM runs on the same 12 hour clock I’ve been using all my life, doesn’t it? I’ll be fine doing what I’ve been doing, right?

WRONG

NO Hanna, no…

Unfortunately, in the course of one hellish day, I had to learn this lesson the hard way.

In ONE day, I managed to forget a very important meeting, missed half a practical because I didn’t realize that there was one this week, and left my notes for a different course at home.

At the end of the day, sitting down and trying to figure out what had happened to my usual organized, Hermione, self, I realized that I need to take time management more seriously. What’s worked for me in high school, will not necessarily work in university.

It’s a sad affair, waving good-bye to simple high school schedules. Farewell, classes being conveniently located in the same building and only a short bus ride away from home. Sayonara, clubs that run simply before school or after school.

Yes, my schedule is now drastically different. I have to remember meetings, practicals, and tutorials, put aside time to commute there and back, and learn to be (at least a little) productive during gaps between classes; but what a great challenge this will be!

I’m excited to try out a different routine! Isn’t it cool to think how much responsibility is placed on university students? It makes me proud to be one! It means that I’m finally old enough, smart enough, and mature enough to handle my own life.  It’s really my job to make sure I’m on top of all of my assignments and commitments. It won’t be easy, but I’m ready regain my Hermione status.

From now on, I’m making it a nightly routine to check my e-mail, phone, and agenda to make sure I know exactly what’s happening the next day. I hope this will be enough! Let me know what your time-management and organizations techniques are in the comments! I can use all the help I can get!

 

2 thoughts on “Ever wish for a timeturner?

    • I do love it! I loved the story when I was 8, because it was magical, but now that I’m older, I love it because of the more complex plot and character development. Great read! But also unfortunately an incredible excuse for procrastinating. 🙂

Leave a comment