Midterm-Mania

Ughh. Midterms.

For some reason a week ago I was under the impression that I don’t have midterms because I’m taking mostly full year courses. And then it hit me…

Term test = midterm

Yup. I have those. I have three of those. Bless the university-test-scheduling folk, I only have one per week… At least they aren’t all in one day.

So, the term test that I have first is proofs. I’m worried, because when we got a review sheet to work on, ALL of the stuff looked new to me. -_- Great. I went into panic mode. I kept on repeating to my mum, “I’m gonna fail my proofs test” so many times that she actually said, “You’re not going to fail” when I opened my mouth.

That was 2 days ago, and since then, I’m feeling a lot better. Here’s why (maybe this will help you out a bit):

  1. I looked over some previous tests:

I got a sense of the format, and the type of questions that tend to be on the test. It doesn’t make the test easier, but at least you feel confident going in about how many questions there are. Are they multiple choice or long answer? Is anything worth more than 3 marks? (You want ‘no’ in case you blank for a question.)

  1. I’ve done some studying:

Unlike most people, I don’t set an amount of time I make myself study for. For example, I don’t say “I’m going to study for 4 hours and then I’m done, and I’m allowed a 10 minute break every hour.”

Instead, I say, I’ll take a break when I understand this concept, and I’ll be done when I understand these concepts. That way, you’re motivated to get finished. And if it only takes you 2 hours…. HELLLOOOO new episodes of Criminal Minds.

  1. I went and got my nails done:

Yeah, at this point you’re thinking: Kay, that’s not gonna help me. But the point that I’m trying to get across is, when you’re feeling most stressed, do something that you super enjoy. Pamper yourself; take a bath, or watch a movie, or eat cake. Considering how much stress you’re under, it’s okay to indulge a little bit, and it’s sure to make you relax.

And don’t tell me that you don’t have time! Because if you don’t take breaks you know you just end up procrastinating by watching Vine videos of people twerking … So you might as well make your breaks meaningful and concentrate the rest of the time.

So my term test is Friday, and I’m feeling a little better about it. I hope some of my tips help you out, and if you have any other tips, leave them in the comments.

 

Leave a comment