Pickup Lines

A couple months back I was hanging out downtown with some friends of mine, when this guy came over and asked for directions. A short conversation started. He seemed pretty nice and funny, but then, out of the blue, he turned to me and said,

“Are you from Tennessee?”

I’d heard this one before. I’m sure everyone has. It definitely ranks high on the list of worst pickup lines ever. (It’s almost as bad as, “Did it hurt? When you fell from heaven?”) So I assumed that this guy had some really clever punch line up his sleeve, and being a good sport, I said,

“No, why would I be from Tennessee?”

You know what he said?

Yes, he said it…

“Because you’re the only 10 I see!”

Face-palm.

I almost burst out laughing right then and there. It was such a good anti-joke. It’s such a well-known pickup line that I never expected to actually hear it in all seriousness. I thanked him kindly and we went our separate ways. Pickup lines are such a stereotypical way to start a conversation with someone cute, but realistically nobody uses them because they get a bad reputation for being cheesy!

Anyways, this got me thinking about pickup lines that are actually funny. So of course I confided in my good friend Google, and I found a couple of gems. Any of these would work on me, gents. Yes I’m well aware that they all have to do with math.

Are you a 30 degree angle? Because you’re acute-y.

How can I know so many hundreds of digits of pi and not the digits of your phone number?

You must be the square root of -1 because you can’t be real.

I can figure out the square root of any number in less than 10 seconds. What? You don’t believe me? Well, then, let’s try it with your phone number.

Leave a comment