Reflection

This September I was chosen to be one of the student-bloggers for utmONE: a first year transition program at the University of Toronto, Mississauga Campus. Over the course of the past several months, however, I’ve grown to represent myself even more so than the University. This project has taken on a very personal significance in my life. At the start of this project, I wrote about what I thought a first-year student would be interested in. Commuting, campus, classes, etc. But now, I’ve grown to write about the things that interest ME. Instead of writing what I think is expected of me, I write honestly. I think that in order to live a successful and happy lives we all have to learn to be true to ourselves and by blogging, I’ve definitely taken a step in the right direction in that regard.

I’m ecstatic to say that blogging has inspired me to see my surroundings and my experiences through a comical, entertaining, and most importantly, happy, lens. Knowing that nobody wants to read my whining about how hard University is, I tried not to see it that way. Instead I learned to focus on the funny and memorable aspects of the not-so-fun situations. This awareness of how my thoughts manifest in my writing has actually changed how I think. I’ve been finding myself looking for the good in people and in situations more and more, and that’s something I’m truly proud of.

If you have been keeping up with this blog, I extend to you my sincerest thanks. I guess I didn’t really start blogging to get a big amount of likes or views or whatever. I’d much rather know that I put a smile on the face of at least one person, and even if I don’t, I know that I’m learning a lot from the experience. But I’m not going anywhere! I’m going to keep on posting on this blog, if perhaps a little less often. You’re welcome to keep up, or drop in occasionally if you’re interested in my perspective on life. My aim for this blog is to become a better person through reflection and to make my readers happy.

I’d really like to thank the people who got me started on this project. Jackie, Kathleen, Stephanie and Mae; thanks for providing me with an opportunity to start blogging, giving me ideas for posts, facilitating my WordPress account and making sure I was okay throughout the whole journey. Your concern and support is very much appreciated and I am lucky to have worked with a team as incredible as you.

Finally, I’d like to wish my fellow utmONE bloggers, Emily and Estelle, the best of luck in all of their endeavors. I’m grateful to have met two such bright young ladies.

Image

One thought on “Reflection

  1. It’s been such a pleasure getting to know you more through your blogs! Your positive perspective on life is so refreshing! We wish you the best of luck and hope you stay in touch!

Leave a comment